Randy Smith

My Recommendations in the May 3 Primary

In Uncategorized on May 2, 2011 at 12:42 pm

At this moment, most minds are made up. Some have already voted early, either in-person or by mailed ballot. Those will be counted tomorrow along with everyone else’s votes.

The biggest decision most people have is whether to vote at all. I believe this is an important election and the more people who are involved in making the decisions, the better. I’m certain that my voters know that, so a low turnout actually works to my benefit. But everyone who can should take the time to vote between 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. Don’t be intimidated by campaigners outside, either. Go inside, sign in, and make your will known.

For those who are still undecided, I offer my recommendations in the following races:

City Council At-Large

Because the choices are so stark and clear, I will be casting all 3 of my allowed votes in the at-large race, in hopes of preventing the “accidental” nomination of some other candidates who would not bring the necessary abilities to the council table.

John Gonder is the only Democrat seeking re-election for this office. He has been a Hall-of-Fame-caliber representative of all the people in this city and has worked effectively on the margins to keep things sane. John gets along with everyone and is a true leader. Don’t be surprised if he becomes our mayor someday. I urge you to vote for John Gonder on May 3.

Roger Baylor has demonstrated his ability to weigh the issues. I value his judgment and believe he, too, is deserving of your vote.

I consider John and Roger to be 2 of my best friends and would ordinarily be tempted to stop voting at 2. But Brad Bell, though young, has demonstrated a keen capacity for learning and adapting and has run a strong campaign. I will be voting for Brad and encourage you to do the same.

3rd District

If ever there were an easy choice, it is for Greg Phipps. My business interests lie in his district and I have worked with Greg over the years. He is far and away the best-qualified candidate in a race where the incumbent is not only unacceptable, but truly harmful to this city’s interests.

Theresa Timberlake is the only candidate in the 1st District who has not disqualified herself with grossly inappropriate behavior. More people in the 1st District cast votes for Mrs. Timberlake in 2007 and I wish her well in th 2011 primary. The other choices would be disastrous for this city.

Messrs. Baylor and Bell have also given me their endorsements, for which I am grateful.

By challenging an incumbent, and by also declaring my dissatisfaction with the status quo, I have challenged the establishment. That makes it understandable that I have not received the support of nor aligned myself with any of the other candidates. That is as it should be. Accordingly, I feel no compulsion to make recommendations in the other races except to say it’s time to put an end to business as usual and to vote for candidates who will bring change with integrity to city offices.

And to be completely honest, others who might have gained my support and my vote do not share my views and would not appreciate my endorsement.

Please don’t think your vote doesn’t matter. The primaries are where the decisions are made. If you skip the primary, don’t be shocked when you don’t have acceptable choices in November.

Leave a comment